After missing out on the first two races of the Formula 4 SEA Championship – fueled by Petron – here at the Buriram International Circuit, Omani driver Shihab Al Habsi’s determination and tenacity paid off when he won the third race today.

Starting from sixth on the grid, Shihab was a driver on a mission today. After 12 laps, which he completed in 21 minutes 05.783 seconds, Shihab found himself at the top of the podium.

Trailing 0.832 seconds behind was Australian Josh Smith with Finland’s Elias Seppanen coming in third, some four seconds off the winner’s time.

Malaysians Muizz Musyaffa and Alister Yoong were fourth and sixth while India’s Yash Aradhya was fifth today.

Thai driver Ananthorn Tangniannatchai, Ali Akabi (Jordan) and Lucca Allen (Ireland) occupied the next three positions while Sneha Sharma’s was unable to complete the race.

Alister and Ali received 10-second penalties while yesterday’s first race winner, Allen was handed down a 20-second penalty.