BURIRAM (10 May) – Lucca Allen claimed pole position for today’s Race 1 after coming out tops in a tight qualifying session of Event 3 of the FIA Formula 4 SEA Championship – fueled by Petron – at the Buriram Circuit today. 

The Irish driver posted the fastest time of 1 minute 43.894s in the seventh lap, a close 0.115s ahead of rookie driver Elias Seppanen of Finland who joins Allen on the front grid. Seppanen came in a close second with the best time of 1:44.009s in Lap 4. 

Australian Josh Smith, who had also a good run in the earlier free practice with 1:44.134s, will start from P3 after posting 1:44.247S. 

Malaysian Muizz Musyaffa finished strongly in the session with only 0.005s separating him from Denmark’s Malthe Jakobsen, who was fifth fastest in 1:44.642s. Muizz pulled off his best time of 1:44.647s in lap 9 to place himself sixth fastest in today’s qualifying. 

Meanwhile, debutants Folky Wongsechareon and India’s Yash Aradhya put up convincing drives after finishing their session in the top 10 with Folky clocking 1:45.008s while Aradhya was 0.760 of a second behind. 

Race 2 starts at 5.10pm local time.